This page uses javascript to enable Google Analytics.

Skip Navigation
Multi Photo Banner
About The School Header Image

News & Media

Employees in the Division of Patient Services at The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston recently began wearing shirts embroidered with the school logo. They will wear the shirts Monday through Thursday, with “casual Fridays” designated for wearing jeans topped by School of Dentistry T-shirts or polo shirts.  Patient Services Director Kim Chambers said the shirts will help patients, faculty, staff and students more easily identify Patient Services employees.  The cost was covered by the division budget, and staff members were invited to complete a survey to determine the preferred color.  The dean and associate dean for patient care approved the final selections.

As Cameron Jeter, PhD, spoke to some 30 high school teachers on biomarkers of traumatic brain injury at a UTHealth-hosted forum recently, she flashed back to a high school class two decades ago.During that biology class, her teacher played a video of a Public Broadcasting Service NOVA documentary about how the brain controls one’s circadian rhythms and how they can be manipulated.“I was enthralled,” recalls Jeter, assistant professor in the Department of Diagnostic and Biomedical Sciences at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) School of Dentistry.

“It was the singular event that inspired my love of science.”

Students and faculty from The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston participated in the first Hartman Middle School Health and Wellness Fair in March, staffing UTSD’s Ronald McDonald Care Mobile and providing oral health screenings, oral hygiene instructions and dental resources at the event, which was designed to raise awareness of the services available to the community. The UTSD volunteers included dental hygiene students Nkiru Vance, Valerie Hernandez, Misty May, Mallory Guidry, Richard Duong, Haley Clanahan, endodontics resident Dr. Mario Leon, research engineer Louis Lee and Dental Van Coordinator Pat Henshaw, CDA, RDA.  Faculty volunteers included Rebecca Weisleder, DDS, and Community Outreach Director Margo Melchor, RDH, MEd.

Volunteers from the Alpha Omega International Dental Fraternity’s Beta Eta Chapter at The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston have been out and about in the Houston area, doing oral health screenings at wellness fairs, teaching oral hygiene at a convalescent center, and co-sponsoring a blood drive with The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center.  Alpha Omega volunteers participated in the WATCH Your Wellness Health Fair at Sugar Land Town Center, where an estimated 1,000 people or more stopped by for free services.

Thirteen members of The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston faculty and staff were elected to a variety of offices at the recent American Dental Education Association Annual Session & Exhibition in Boston.

Those so honored include Shawn Adibi, DDS; Sam Dorn, DDS; Harold Henson, RDH, PhD; Cameron Jeter, PhD; Donna Warren Morris, RDH, MEd; Gargi Mukherji, DDS; Ana Neumann, DDS, PhD; Ted Pate, PhD; Victoria Patrounova, RDH, MHA; Philip Pierpont, DDS;  Ryan Quock, DDS; Dharini van der Hoeven, PhD; and Beth Wilson, MS. Details on each office held follow: 

Eighteen University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston dental students and residents, working with 17 faculty mentors, presented research projects at the 2015 IADR/AADR/CADR General Session & Exhibition in Boston in March.  Second-year dental student Sarah Arafat won the Jonathan Ship Award for Best Dental Student Poster Presentation in Geriatric Dentistry Research for “Oral Health Care Needs Assessment in Patients with Movement Disorders.”  Her mentors were Dr. Cameron Jeter and Dr. June Sadowsky.For his presentation “Characterizing Tricyclic Antidepressants as Potential Anti-Cancer Therapeutics,” third-year dental student Antonio Max Quintanilla won the 2015 AADR Bloc Travel Grant, which provides travel funds for dental students to attend the IADR/AADR and CADR General Session & Exhibition in Boston, Massachusetts. The grant is supported by the National Institute of Health/National Institute for Dental and Craniofacial Research.  His mentor was Dr. Dharini van der Hoeven.

Fifteen restaurant chefs, 13 novice chefs and five sponsors have signed on to participate in The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston’s first “Texas Taste Teaser” fundraiser, set for 6:30 to 9:30 p.m. Thursday, April 16 at The Denton A. Cooley, MD and Ralph C. Cooley University Life Center, 7440 Cambridge St. in Houston.  The event co-chairs include Modern Luxury Houston Publisher Peter Remington, "Texas Tooth Lady" and UTSD alumna Terri Alani, DDS; and Yasmine Haddad, DDS, PhD, of the Department of Diagnostic and Biomedical Sciences at UTSD.

Celebrity judges will include Miss Texas United States Rachel Ashley, KHOU anchor Len Cannon, Fox26 morning anchor Rita Garcia, Modern Luxury Houston editor Jeff Gremillion and former Houston Oiler Dan Pastorini.