This page uses javascript to enable Google Analytics.

Skip Navigation
Multi Photo Banner
About The School Header Image

UT System Honors Dr. Hecht, 6 Others from UTHealth

Wednesday, January 23, 2013 - 4:08pm

Jacqueline Hecht, PhD

Jacqueline Hecht, PhD

Seven University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) faculty members – including the School of Dentistry’s Associate Dean for Research Jacqueline Hecht, PhD – have been elected to The University of Texas Academy of Health Science Education, an organization of distinguished scholars recognized for their teaching excellence. 

She will be the sixth member of the UTSD faculty in the Academy, along with Dean and Distinguished Teaching Professor John A. Valenza, DDS; Distinguished Teaching Professor and Former Dean Catherine M. Flaitz, DDS, MS; Professor Paula O'Neill, EdD; Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Leslie Roeder, DDS, MS; and Professor John McMahon, PhD, MS.

Hecht is also a professor and director of the Pediatric Research Center at the Medical School. As a faculty member with the Human and Molecular Genetics Program at the Graduate School for Biomedical Sciences, she founded the Genetic Counseling Program in 1989, and was recently awarded the UT Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award in 2012.

Other Academy of Health Science Education honorees for 2013 from UTHealth include Michael Blackburn, PhD, of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences; four from the Medical School: Bryant Boutwell, DrPH, MPH; Gerard Francisco, MD; Evan Pivalizza, MD; and Cynthia Santos, MD; and Patricia Dolan Mullen, DrPH, MPH, of the School of Public Health.  In previous years, School of Dentistry.

Since 2005, more than 100 UT System educators have been inducted into the prestigious academy. Members represent a diverse group of educators from the many disciplines in health science education who fulfill the strict criteria set by the Academy. Nominations for membership in the Academy may come from the president, dean or vice-dean and the faculty senate at each of the six University of Texas health institutions.

Among the criteria on which prospective members are judged are: direct teaching; curriculum development; counseling and mentorship; leadership; and educational scholarship and research. A total of 12 new members were elected this year. They will be inducted during the 2013 Innovations in Health Science Education annual conference Feb. 21-22 in Austin.

“These scholars represent exemplary leadership and contribute their immense talent to enrich health education in Texas, from the classroom to the laboratory to the bedside,” said Kenneth I. Shine, MD, executive vice chancellor for health affairs at The University of Texas System. “We could not be more proud of their accomplishments and dedication to the UT System.”