This page uses javascript to enable Google Analytics.

Skip Navigation
Multi Photo Banner
Administration Header Image

Office of the Dean

Responsibilities of the dean include providing vision and leadership in directing, coordinating and integrating the teaching, research, practice and service missions of The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston. In consultation with faculty and administrators, the dean has overall responsibility and authority for:

  • strategic planning and operations
  • continuous quality improvement of curriculum and instruction
  • fiscal planning, resource acquisition and management, including budget preparation, supervision and utilization
  • student affairs, including admissions and enrollment management, financial aid, counseling and other student support services and activities
  • space and facilities planning and management including capital projects
  • academic program development, evaluation and revision
  • personnel administration, including faculty and staff appointments, retention and development
  • promoting cultural and ethnic diversity within the School of Dentistry
  • and fundraising, alumni affairs and public relations

The dean serves as spokesperson for the faculty and represents the School of Dentistry within the wider UT System, the academic and professional community and the business community. The dean is responsible for advocating for dentistry and maintaining relationships between UTSD and local, state, regional, national and international agencies and organizations.

The dean reports directly to the president of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth). In addition, the dean serves on appropriate faculty and administrative committees both at the School of Dentistry and within UT System. In addition to administrative functions, the dean also engages in teaching, student advisement and scholarly activities such as writing for publication and presenting at professional meetings.

The dean also supports the Dean's Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars.