This page uses javascript to enable Google Analytics.

Skip Navigation
Multi Photo Banner
Departments Header Image

News & Events

Regents' Outstanding Teaching Awards Go to 10 from UTHealth

Ten faculty members at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) — including Raymond G. Koeppen, DDS, MS, MBA, of the School of Dentistry — have been recognized for teaching excellence by The UT System Board of Regents.

Koeppen is an associate professor and chair of the Department of Restorative Dentistry and Prosthodontics. He holds the Yun J. Ahn and Song Ahn, DDS Professorship in Implant Dentistry. The Regents' Outstanding Teaching Awards recognize faculty members at the nine academic and six health institutions in UT System who have demonstrated extraordinary classroom performance and innovation in instruction.

The awards include a $25,000 monetary award and underscore the Regents' commitment to ensuring the UT System is a place of intellectual exploration and discovery, educational excellence and unparalleled opportunity. In addition to Koeppen, the other honorees for 2015 from UTHealth include:

Dean Hosts Annual Reception for New Faculty

University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston Dean John A. Valenza, DDS, welcomed new faculty members at a get-acquainted reception in their honor May 12 in The Denton A. Cooley, MD and Ralph C. Cooley, DDS University Life Center.  It was a chance for them to meet each other as well as department chairs and key staff members, he said, noting that some of the new faculty have been at UTSD since summer 2014, while a few have been here less than a month. "We like to hold these receptions when we get a sort of critical mass of new people," he added.More photos from the event are posted at A list of new faculty invited to the reception includes: