Skip Navigation and Go To Content

Special precautions are in place for preventing the spread of COVID-19. Learn more ...

Donna Warren Morris, RDH, MEd

 Donna Warren Morris, RDH, MEd
  • Title: Dental Hygiene Program Director; Distinguished Teaching Professor
  • Office: SOD-6431
  • Phone: 713-486-4396
  • Email:
  • Administrative Area(s): Dental Hygiene, Periodontics and Dental Hygiene
  • Education:

    MEd | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
    BS, Dental Auxiliary Teacher Education | University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
    Certificate in Dental Hygiene | University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Dental Hygiene Program Director Donna Warren Morris, RDH, MEd, is a distinguished teaching professor in the Department of Periodontics and Dental Hygiene at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) School of Dentistry.

Prior to teaching at UTHealth in 1993, she taught 10 years at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill School of Dentistry. She has been the director of the Dental Hygiene Program’s two community dental health courses and developed community service learning programs for students. She has been extensively involved in interprofessional education activities with UTHealth’s School of Nursing, School of Public Health, School of Biomedical Informatics and McGovern Medical School, as well as other professional schools in the Houston area, including Texas Woman’s University's School of Physical Therapy, School of Occupational Therapy, and the University of Houston's School of Pharmacy and Law Center.  

Professor Morris is the recipient of numerous teaching awards, including:

  • Five University of North Carolina Dental Hygiene Teaching Excellence Awards (1984, 1985, 1986, 1987 and 1989)
  • The University of North Carolina Dental Hygiene Alumni Association Distinguished Alumni Award (1985)
  • Two John P. McGovern Outstanding Teaching Awards (2002, 2004) at UTHealth
  • The American Dental Education Procter & Gamble Crest Oral B Dental Hygiene Teaching Excellence Award (2007)
  • Dean’s Teaching Excellence Awards for Innovation in Teaching (2010, 2013), for Engagement and Collaboration (2008), and for Mentoring (2014)
  • The Lorna J. Bruning Award for Outstanding Teaching (2014)
  • The University of Texas Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award (2013)
  • The American Dental Hygienists Association Award for Excellence in Dental Hygiene (2017)
  • The UTHealth President’s Scholar Award for Teaching (2017)
  • The UT Kenneth I. Shine Health Science Academy of Health Science Education (2019).

Professor Morris has been very active in the American Dental Education Association, serving as UTHealth School of Dentistry's representative on the Council of Faculties; the ADEA Special Task Force Committee to develop guidelines for education of mid-level practitioners; chair of the Community and Preventive Dentistry Section; and the Substance Abuse, Addictions and Tobacco Dependence Education Section.

She has presented faculty development workshops at the ADEA conference annually since 2005 and was a fellow in the ADEA Leadership Institute in 2012-2013, receiving the ADEA/Colgate-Palmolive Allied Dental Educators Fellowship Award. She has served on the board of directors for the Texas Oral Health Coalition and the editorial review board for the Journal of Dental Hygiene.