This page uses javascript to enable Google Analytics.

Skip Navigation
Multi Photo Banner


The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth), the largest and most comprehensive academic health science institution in Texas, is comprised of six schools representing dental, medical, nursing, public health, biomedical sciences, and biomedical informatics. Established by the Texas Legislature in 1969, the health science center now includes 1,667 faculty; 4,008 staff; 4,489 students and nearly 1,000 medical and dental residents, according to the UTHealth Fact Book 2013. To fulfill the mission of UTHealth, we educate health professionals and scientists in a diverse interdisciplinary academic community.


UTHealth embraces a mission to advance the health of the people of Texas, the nation, and our global community through educating compassionate healthcare professionals and innovative scientists, and through discovering and translating advances in the social and biomedical sciences to treat, cure, and prevent disease now and in the future.