Skip Navigation and Go To Content

DDS Class of 2024 celebrated at Senior Awards

Published: April 19, 2024 by Kyle Rogers

Dental Class of 2024 Vice President Van DeMille speaks at the podium during the 2024 DDS Senior Awards.
Dental Class of 2024 Vice President Van DeMille speaks at the podium during the 2024 DDS Senior Awards. Photo by Dwight Andrews.

Students from the Dental Class of 2024 were recognized at UTHealth Houston School of Dentistry’s annual DDS Senior Awards. The ceremony was held April 18 in the Denton A. Cooley, MD and Ralph C. Cooley, DDS University Life Center.

Over 60 awards were bestowed upon members of the soon-to-be graduating class.

Order of ceremony:

  • United States Armed Forces Recognition:
    • Air Force: Helen Liu, Camille K. Hoover, Rahul Paul
    • Army: Nolan T. Walker, Hannah R. Perkins
    • Navy: Hunter D. Ross, Quaid Russell, Noah M. Price, Joshua D. Mathew, Faith Wallace
  • American Student Dental Association Award of Excellence: Rebecca A. Hobbesland
  • Academy of General Dentistry Senior Student Dental Awards: Sophia D. Nicolosi
  • Houston Academy of General Dentistry Award: Sarah K. Lee
  • American College of Dentists Outstanding Student Leader Award: Andrew A. Roberts
  • Southwest Academy of Restorative Dentistry Award: Brian M. Hsu
  • International College of Dentists Student Humanitarian Award: Gloria A. Azulpha
  • International College of Dentists Student Leadership Award: Melissa Y. Liu
  • Greater Houston Dental Society Community Dentistry Award: Joseph T. Morton
  • Texas Dental Association Outstanding Senior Award: Arya S. Reddy
  • S. Public Health Service Dental Award of Excellence: Nicole M. Moore
  • The Academy of Dentistry International Student Servant Leadership Award: Helen Liu
  • Kenneth Horwitz, DDS, Ethics and Professionalism Award:
    • Winner: Hunter D. Ross
    • Runner-Up: Andrew A. Roberts
    • Finalist: Colin F. Kappel
  • Elliott-Hale “Gunner” Award for Clinical Excellence: Garrett J. Conlan
  • Stephen Laman, DDS Scholarship for Servant Leadership Award: Natalie P. Ly
  • PACE Center Award for Excellence in Practice Management: Colin F. Kappel
  • UTSD Alumni Association Award: Andrew A. Roberts
  • American Association of Public Health Dentistry Recognition Award: Joshua D. Mathew
  • American Equilibration Society Award: Mason J. Proctor
  • Ninth District Dental Society Award for Collegiality: Sydney E. Pham, Lindsay W. Wong, Ethan Enneking, Julia M. Brito, Camille K. Hoover
  • Ninth District Dental Society Ethics and Integrity Award: Justin Quackenbush
  • American Association of Women Dentists – Eleanor J. Bushee Award: Kristen A. Ramirez
  • Academy of Laser Dentistry Award: Van D. DeMille
  • Academy of Operative Dentistry Award: Hillary Bui
  • Texas Association of Women Dentists Award: Natalie L. Heimeyer
  • American Academy of Implant Dentistry Undergraduate Dental Student Award: Amy S. John
  • American College of Prosthodontists Award: Andrew A. Roberts
  • Academy of Osseointegration Outstanding Dental Student in Implant Dentistry Award: Colin F. Kappel
  • Hanau Best of the Best Award for Excellence in Prosthodontics: Rebecca A. Hobbesland
  • International Congress of Oral Implantologists / DENTSPLY Student Achievement Award: Andrew G. Ramirez
  • American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry Award: Allison A. Welch
  • Academy of Dental Materials Award: Bridget P. Sneed
  • Society for Color and Appearance in Dentistry Award: Ethan Enneking
  • James P. Ferguson Award for Excellence in Dental Anatomy: Angela N. Suryakusuma
  • Special Care Dentistry Association / Academy of Dentistry for Persons with Disabilities Student Award: Amy S. John
  • Robert O. Dosch and James L. Rout Award: Mason P. Tobola
  • American Association of Orthodontists Awards: Arya S. Reddy, Vuong Q. Ho
  • American Academy of Digital Dentistry Teaching and Leadership Award: Colin F. Kappel
  • Ivoclar Digital Dentistry Student of the Year Award: Cade Y. Erwin
  • Society for Simulation in Healthcare Student Award: Nicole M. Moore, Hannah R. Perkins
  • Quintessence Award for Clinical Achievement in Restorative Dentistry: Nolan T. Walker
  • The Brian D. Stone Memorial Award from Dental Lifeline Network: Christine C. Anusim
  • American Academy of Oral Medicine Certificate of Merit and Award in Oral Medicine: Vuong Q. Ho
  • American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology Achievement Award: Andrew D. Tran
  • UTHealth Houston School of Dentistry Student Award in Applied Basic Sciences: Hannah R. Perkins
  • Houston Chapter of the American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research Award: Hannah R. Perkins
  • Pierre Fauchard Academy Senior Student Award: Stephanie R. Price
  • Quintessence Award for Research Achievement: Andrew D. Tran
  • American Academy of Periodontology Dental Student Achievement Award: Andrew G. Ramirez
  • Quintessence Award for Clinical Achievement in Periodontics: Logan E. Bliss
  • Edwards C. Hinds Academy Award: Jacob M. Buenning
  • Houston Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons Award: Sydney E. Pham
  • American Dental Society of Anesthesiology (Horace Wells) Award: Van D. DeMille
  • American Association of Endodontists Student Achievement Award: Tyler F. Hanis
  • American Academy of Orofacial Pain Outstanding Senior Award: Brooke A. Rebenschied
  • Omicron Kappa Upsilon National Dental Honor Society Inductees: David A. Drake, Jacqueline A. Duquemin, Vuong Q. Ho, Colin F. Kappel, Melissa Y. Liu, Sydney E. Pham, Noah M. Price, Joel P. Sneed, Angela N. Suryakusuma, Andrew D. Tran
  • American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Predoctoral Student Award: Van D. DeMille
  • UTHealth Houston School of Dentistry Informatics Award: Stephanie R. Price
  • American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology Dental Student Award: Arya S. Reddy
  • Jeanne Craig Sinkford Student Leadership Award: Christine C. Anusim
  • Walter G. Sterling Award: Arya S. Reddy
  • Student InterCouncil Stoles: Logan E. Bliss, Ruchira Gundlapally, Melissa Y. Liu

The program concluded with the presentation of the 2024 faculty teaching awards.

Associate Professor Dan A. Bentley, DDS, was named the recipient of the John P. McGovern Award for Outstanding Teaching. Chosen by third- and fourth-year dental students, the McGovern Award recognizes excellence in clinical teaching.

Assistant Professor Vuvi H. Nguyen, PhD, MS, was named the recipient of the John H. Freeman Award for Faculty Teaching. Chosen by first- and second-year dental students, the Freeman Award recognizes excellence in preclinical teaching.

site var = sod