Skip Navigation and Go To Content

Dental Class of 2023 recognized at DDS Senior Awards

Published: May 04, 2023 by Kyle Rogers

Set dressings, table clothes, and candle lights for the 2023 DDS Senior Awards.
Members of UTHealth Houston School of Dentistry's Dental Class of 2023 were recognized with 57 awards during the annual DDS Senior Awards. Photo by Brian Schnupp.

Students from the Dental Class of 2023 were recognized at UTHealth Houston School of Dentistry’s annual DDS Senior Awards. The ceremony was held April 20 in the Denton A. Cooley, MD and Ralph C. Cooley, DDS University Life Center.

In total, 57 awards were bestowed upon members of the soon-to-be graduating class. A PDF of the program can be found online.

Order of ceremony:

  • American Student Dental Association Award of Excellence: Clara Kohlmetz
  • Academy of General Dentistry Senior Student Dental Awards: Macie L. Long
  • Houston Academy of General Dentistry Award: Vincent T. Nguyen
  • American College of Dentists Outstanding Student Leader Award: Jared M. Stergar
  • The Academy of Dentistry International Student Servant Leadership Award: Ryan D. Lee
  • Texas Dental Association Outstanding Senior Award: Jackson B. Valencia
  • Kenneth Horwitz, DDS, Ethics and Professionalism Award:
    • Winner: Teressa Hill
    • Runner-Up: Mackenzie Clayton
    • Finalist: Ali Al Hatem
  • Greater Houston Dental Society Community Dentistry Award: Thanh V. Le
  • Elliott-Hale “Gunner” Award for Clinical Excellence: Ali Al Hatem
  • Stephen Laman, DDS Scholarship for Servant Leadership Award: Sarah Zhao
  • UTHealth Houston School of Dentistry Good Samaritan Award: Laura T. Arsto
  • UTSD Alumni Association Award: Benjamin D. La Guardia
  • American Association of Public Health Dentistry Recognition Award: Meghna M. Dara
  • American Equilibration Society Award: Mackenzie S. Clayton
  • International College of Dentists Student Humanitarian Award: Andrew Phillips
  • International College of Dentists Student Leadership Award: Clara Kohlmetz
  • Ninth District Dental Society Award for Collegiality: Khoi Le, Esmeralda Diaz, Jacob Dalton, Heni Gutman, Erika Bowman, Thaylan Bowman
  • Ninth District Dental Society Ethics and Integrity Award: Shealee N. Allen
  • Texas Association of Women Dentists Award: Caroline C. Hajduk
  • Academy of Laser Dentistry Award: Ethan M. Ellis
  • Academy of Operative Dentistry Award: Benjamin D. La Guardia
  • American Academy of Implant Dentistry Undergraduate Dental Student Award: Huan T. Phan
  • American College of Prosthodontists Award: Benjamin D. La Guardia
  • Academy of Osseointegration Outstanding Dental Student in Implant Dentistry Award: Nicholas T. Tipton
  • Hanau Best of the Best Award for Excellence in Prosthodontics: Sonamben R. Patel
  • International Congress of Oral Implantologists; DENTSPLY Student Achievement Award: Julio C. Lores Cruz
  • American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry Award: Elizabeth L. Pohlmann
  • Southwest Academy of Restorative Dentistry Award: Shealee N. Allen
  • Academy of Dental Materials Award: Ghazia A. Kazmi
  • Society for Color and Appearance in Dentistry Award: Meghan Bhakta
  • James P. Ferguson Award for Excellence in Dental Anatomy: Nhu N. Dao
  • Robert O. Dosch and James L. Rout Award: Brittyn Rushing
  • American Association of Orthodontists Awards: Bethany Burgess, Jackson Valencia
  • Ivoclar Digital Dentistry Student of the Year Award: Nhu N. Dao
  • Special Care Dentistry Award: Austin J. Viskozki
  • Society for Simulation in Healthcare Student Award: Meghna M. Dara
  • Quintessence Award for Clinical Achievement in Restorative Dentistry: Mau D. Truong
  • The Brian D. Stone Memorial Award from Dental Lifeline Network: Diego J. Rivas
  • Quintessence Award for Clinical Achievement in Periodontics: Mary A. Younan
  • American Academy of Oral Medicine Certificate of Merit and Award in Oral Medicine: Hanna L. Rowe
  • American Academy of Oral & Maxillofacial Pathology Dental Student Award: Jayson K. Workman
  • School of Dentistry Student Award in Applied Basic Science: Hanna L. Rowe
  • Houston Chapter of the American Association for Dental Research Award: Ryan N. Lee
  • Pierre Fauchard Academy Senior Student Award: Ali Al Hatem
  • Quintessence Award for Research Achievement: Jackson B. Valencia
  • American Academy of Periodontology Dental Student Achievement Award: Ali Al Hatem
  • Edwards C. Hinds Academy Award: Sydney Moye
  • Houston Society of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgeons Award: Jayson K. Workman
  • American Dental Society of Anesthesiology “Horace Wells” Senior Student Award: Artur P. Jakubowski
  • American Association of Endodontists Student Achievement Award: Jefferson T. Henthorn
  • School of Dentistry Informatics Award: Pooja Krishnaswamy
  • American Academy of Orofacial Pain Outstanding Senior Award: Elizabeth L. Pohlmann
  • Omicron Kappa Upsilon National Dental Honor Society Inductees: Ali Al Hatem, Bethany Burgess, Mackenzie Clayton, Meghna Dara, Tuyet Doan, Benjamin La Guardia, Sydney Moye, Elizabeth Pohlmann, Hanna Rowe, Parnian Salehi, Jackson Valencia, Jayson Workman
  • American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Predoctoral Student Award: Mary Kate Myrick
  • American Academy of Oral & Maxillofacial Radiology Achievement Award: Huan T. Phan
  • Jeanne Craig Sinkford Student Leadership Award: Dominique Angibeau
  • Walter G. Sterling Award: Jayson K. Workman

Additionally, Dean John A. Valenza, DDS, honored T. Bob Davis, DMD, with the distinction of Honorary Alumnus of the School of Dentistry. He was recognized in appreciation for his more than 50 years of teaching, dedication, and service to humanity and the dental school students, residents, faculty, and staff.

Associate Professor Stephen Laman, DDS, was named the 2023 recipient of the John P. McGovern Award for Outstanding Teaching. Chosen by third- and fourth-year dental students, the McGovern Award recognizes excellence in clinical teaching.

Professor Juliana A. Barros, DDS, MS, was named the 2023 recipient of the John H. Freeman Award for Faculty Teaching. Chosen by first- and second-year dental students, the Freeman Award recognizes excellence in preclinical teaching.

site var = sod